Milan (Day 3)

My friends were all really hungover and I felt fine so I got up at 9am and went for a solo adventure. I went for a coffee at 12 oz, opposite our apartment on Via Torino and then had a wander down some nice, picturesque side streets until the shops opened at 10am. Then I did a bit of shopping before going to the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II shopping mall.

My friends are not into photography so it was a great opportunity for me to take some time on my shots and get creative.

img_2396

img_2401

img_2403

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

img_2453

img_2463

They finally woke up and I met them at the apartment at 1.45 and we headed out for lunch at Panini Durini.

img_9365img_9384

The plan was to go and see the Last Supper, but it was booked for two weeks in advance so that was a no. I would really suggest investigating this as soon as you book your trip to Milan if you are interested in going.

We then went into Pinacoteca di Brera to get our art fix.

img_2477

img_2471

 

We then strolled around the Botanical Gardens (Orto Botanico di Brera), which were really peaceful and relaxing. The gardens are right below the Osservatorio Astronomico (a gallery with a collection of telescopes and measuring equipment). The gardens were not as good as some of the other city gardens that I have been too, but nonetheless its good to tick it off the list.

img_2479

IMG_2481.JPG

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

img_2496

img_2491

It was 30 degrees so we decided to walk to the Giardini Pubblici (Public Gardens) to have a break and do some people/dog watching.

IMG_2498.JPGIMG_2501.JPG

We then headed out to dinner – to a place I had found online and intended on buying wine from before I realised that we were taking only hand luggage so liquids were not allowed. Signorvino is right opposite the Duomo, and the fantastic views meant that we had to wait about 20-25 minutes for a table but it was SO SO worth it.

They try and incorporate their wine into the dishes, and I was so surprised at the reasonable prices. I had a wonderful glass of their RosΓ© for only €3.50, and a wonderful Sicilia pasta – ‘Matt Felicetti’ shells ‘alla Norma’ in a tomato based sauce, aubergines and mozzarella cheese for €9. Mehak and I also shared an amazing deconstructed Tiramisu because we had to have a dessert in Italy. Best meal of the trip, a welcome break from Pizza, and on my top 10 restaurants I’ve ever been to.

img_9387

img_9366img_9368img_9367

Screen Shot 2016-09-11 at 14.30.55.png
Day 3 on the map
Leave a Reply

